Hops on Pointe – Garage Project

It’s been a while since I’ve done a post – been too busy lazing about and procrastinating to string a coherent sentence together. ‘Tis the season and such. So I figured, given the delay and it’s the last day of the year, we should pop the top of something a wee bit special.

Garage Project - Hops on PointeBehold! Hops on Pointe by Garage Project – an interesting brew created for Royal New Zealand Ballet to celebrate the worlds first “Beer Ballet”, Bier Halle that they were touring earlier this year.

It’s determinedly balanced with strong citrus and fruit flavours, and uniform champaign bubbles. Not quite a lager, but not quite a pale ale, this one certainly had us on the edge of our seats.

According to the Pet Expert “It’s a beer that doesn’t know what it is”. To be fair, it is quite hoppy for what is described as a “pale gold lager”.

I quite liked it. I really liked the ballet puns on the label (“Available at all good barres” haw haw haw titter titter). It was definitely a bit fancy – a touch Haute Couture.

Overall, a reasonably polished performance that I would try again, but just like ballet, I can’t help but think “I’m not sure I get it…?”

Leave a comment